“I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘No’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.” – Steve Jobs (CEO of Apple Inc.)

Oh, the joys of being an indecisive college student. Trust me, I have gotten better at decision making, but it has taken some time. As of the date I’m publishing this blog, I will be entering my junior year of college. Gosh, am I seriously already an upperclassman?

The journal entry below is about me reflecting over my freshman year of college and how changing my major is not a sign of defeat but an opportunity to discover what my calling in a career truly is.

May 5, 2014
As I wrap up my freshman year of college, I can easily say that I am not the same person I started out. I’ve learned to adapt to my surroundings and live in a vibrant southern culture different from my own Buckeye state. I have gained such independence living 800 miles away from home and forming a second family at Huntingdon. Turning in homework has been no match for me and having to wake up at 6:30AM every other morning has become manageable. I am a Dean’s List of High Honors student, sorority sister, choir member, Campus Ministries singer and musician, and Miss Huntingdon 2014.
Something has taken a turn in my life, though. I have met with a reality that brought me to a brick wall: I don’t have my life figured out. I made a decision that thousands of college students do – switch majors. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, you’ve heard me correctly. I came head on with the realization that neither teaching nor mathematics is what I was meant to do as a career. 
From my experiences observing in schools, I’ve gained insight that there is a huge difference between teaching students and presenting information to a group of people. I loved the communication aspect, but guiding and nurturing a classroom of students was not what I desired. My mom and other friends have always told me that having a passion for teaching comes naturally and something someone is born with. I never had a gut feeling telling me a teaching career was my thing. So, I switched majors to Communication Studies. 
My thought process was simple. If I wasn’t going to be happy with a career choice, then why should I be majoring in it? Thinking outside of my two-year fixed mindset of being a secondary teacher, I decided that this question was valid and contained a whole lot of truth to it. I only seek happiness in life and whatever God is calling me to do. The fact that I figured this change out now instead of my junior or senior year is a blessing. 
So, I present you with a profound, yet simple question: Are you going to be happy with the life you wish to live? I thought for the longest of time that teaching was for me. However, it was though experience and observations that proved me wrong. I do not currently know what I will be doing in life, and that scares me to the bone. However, knowing what I plan on doing in life is only as important as know what I am NOT going to do in life, and I’ve figured out that much so far. 
Since then, I changed my major a couple more times before finally deciding on Business Administration. Do what you love because if you don’t stick with something that you enjoy, you are going to be unhappy at your work. That’s never fun.
Until next time,
Julia
