I am not one to voice my opinion politically or religiously, but due to the exceptional occurrences recently, I feel obliged to share my part. Friday, June 26, 2015 marked a significant moment in history for the LGBT community. As a Christian and decent human being, I look to all my friends, family, and anyone I meet with love regardless of race, sexual orientation, and the like. This is to stick with God’s commandment to love one another as He loves us (John 15:12). I don’t HATE anyone – except the devil and sin. GOD doesn’t hate anyone – except the devil and sin. God is for us – not sin.

“Love” also does not necessarily equate to “support”. In fact, God tells us to “love” our enemies (Matthew 5:44). So, I’ll be kind and respectful to all but that doesn’t mean I’ll agree with everyone’s beliefs or practices. However, beliefs won’t make me love you any less as a person – only that I know my opinions and beliefs are different. I will still look out for you and treat you as a good friend and human being. This post is not meant to start arguments. I realize that my beliefs are SO against supporters of same-sex marriage. Many will look at me as a “bigot” and “homophobic”. My beliefs are outrageous according to several people. I get that.

Several will roll their eyes when I say that a strong conviction in the very roots of God’s Word expressed through the Catholic faith is the reason why I’m not for gay marriage. As a Roman Catholic, I believe the purpose of marriage is a loving bond between one man and one woman who are fully opened and accepting to the procreation of children. There, I said it. Simply put, God told Adam and Eve to be fruitful and multiply (Gen. 1:28). I find that the most fundamental reason for marriage is to create and nurture new life. The outward sign of marriage is children. It’s all about sacrifice – just like Jesus sacrificed for us. Same-sex marriage does not in any way promote this lifestyle.

I put God’s authority over man-made decisions. Love the sinner but dislike the sin. Again, I’m just one person with one opinion. But, what I believe is important to me. I’m entitled to my opinion and you are entitled to yours. I’ll still love you and treat you as a person, but that doesn’t mean we’ll support everything together.

Everyone deserves to be loved. However, being romantically involved with the same sex is another story. Attraction isn’t a sin. It’s when we apply those feelings towards lustful, fruitless actions that makes this attitude sinful. Find love through Jesus Christ.

Julia

